Star Awards & Local Scholarships

Any 4-H member can apply for Star Awards. These awards signify the top 4-H member in the county for the year. There is age and enrollment requirements for each award and a 4-H Record book must be submitted in order to apply for the award.

  • Gold Star Award Requirements: 15 yrs old and up; must have completed at least 3 years in 4-H including current year; must submit a 4-H Record book

  • I Dare You Award requirements: 14 yrs old as of Aug. 31; must have completed at least 3 yrs in 4-H including current year; must submit 4-H Record book.

  • Silver Star Award Requirements: Must be 11 or 13 yrs old as of August 31; been in 4-H at least 2 yrs; must submit a 4-H Record book.

  • Bronze Star Award Requirements: Must be 9—10 yrs old by Aug. 31, or in third grade; must submit a 4-H Record book.


Award Applications:

Award Guidelines:

Deadline to turn in is July 26th, 2021. Results will be announced in August at the Annual Awards and Achievement Banquet.

History of the Gold Star

The following information was prepared by Mr. Lynch in a memorandum to Director Gibson on December 9, 1952. “The presentation of the Gold Star Pin was begun in 1933, the first year Mr. E.C. Martin was Boys 4-H Club Specialist. Mr. Martin tells us the pin was prompted by an effort to recognize the people who did the work rather than the agents. Previous to this time, the agents submitting the largest number of 4-H records received the recognition. Records in the Fiscal office the first Gold Star Pins were purchased in 1933. For the first several years the Gold Star Pins were presented at a dinner during Short Course at College Station. In the beginning each county made a nomination of their outstanding 4-H member and 100 members were selected to receive the award. After several years, the awards were presented to the outstanding 4-H boy and 4-H girl in each county.” (Cox, et. al) In 1985, the Gold Star begin to be awarded to the top 4-H members in a county, regardless of gender. The numbers of Gold Stars are determined based on the membership of the total county 4-H enrollment.

History of the I Dare You Award

William H. Danforth’s book, I Dare You, was first published in 1931. It is still considered one of the most influential books in the area of personal motivation. The book is published and distributed by the American Youth Foundation through its I Dare You committee. The I Dare You Leadership Award is not a contest or competition. High school principals and county agents are asked to select (or have a staff or committee select) nominees. The award consists of a copy of I Dare You, a certificate, and an invitation to apply for a scholarship to attend a 7-day International Leadership Conference (ILC) at one of A.Y.F.’s three sites ( Michigan, New Hampshire and California). The award recognizes excellence in character, well-balanced personal development, and potential for leadership.


Scholarship Opportunities:

Free Scholarship Search Tool  






Comments are closed.